top of page

Who will win at the Salon International Hair Awards?

Hair professionals are encouraged to tune into the virtual Salon International Hair Awards Sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, taking place on Monday, 22 February at 6pm.

The event will be live streamed on Facebook and Zoom.

As South African industry professionals may recall, this inaugural edition of the Salon International Hair Awards Sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional ceremony was originally scheduled to be held live in Johannesburg on 16 March 2020, but could not go ahead as a day earlier, President Cyril Ramaphosa announced a ban on large gatherings due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Says Salon International’s Phil Woods: “We have been anxiously awaiting some real movement in terms of government relaxing the lockdown rules, but because of the alarming spike of infections due to the second wave of COVID-19, we cannot wait any longer and have taken the decision to hold an exciting virtual event. We are keen to acknowledge excellence in the industry by announcing our award winners.”

The awards ceremony will be broadcast at 6pm SA time on Salon International’s social media platforms, both here in South Africa, as well as to the group’s India and Dubai platforms as well. Look out for the links to the virtual event closer to the time.

Schwarzkopf Professional is the headline sponsor for the Salon International Hair Awards, with the EOHCB (Employers Organisation for Hairdressing Cosmetology Beauty) sponsoring the Industry Categories.

Here are the finalists


Afro Hairdresser of the Year

Anel Cloete - C - Connoisseurs Studio

Thomas Tsheola - House Of Thomas

Candice Mckay - Wyatt Hairdressing and Barbering

Fantasy Hairdresser of the Year

Candice Mckay - Wyatt Hairdressing and Barbering

Team collaboration: Nicole Wiese, Tracy Barclay and Taylor Sandow - Rock Paper ScissorsHair Shop

Sasha-lee De Vries - Pasquale hairstylist

Cut & Colour Hairdresser of the Year

Dylan Shrives - Blu Gel hair studio

Candice Mckay - Wyatt Hairdressing and Barbering

Sasha-lee De Vries - Pasquale hairstylist

Up & Coming Hairdresser of the Year

Marni Malan - Hair @ Bennies

Raeesa Dawood - Raeesa international

Melanie Backlund - Shag High Voltage Hair

Apprentice of the Year

Nomfundo Sokhela – Blu Gel Hair Studio

Varushkh Govindasamy- Blu Gel Hair Studio

Lee Vanderbyl – Blu Gel Hair Studio


Manager of the year

Inge Ramos from Style Studio Platinum

Eric Way Lovemore from Groomed Men & Groomed Ladies

Darryl November from Nehzrah Hair Salon

Salon Design of the Year

Stijl Men

Medellin Gentlemen Groomers

Nudo Hair Lab Pretoria

Marketing Campaign of the Year

Style Bar

Mirrors Hair Lab

Hair by Anri


Best Hair Equipment Supplier

Rapple Salon Products

Sharplines Salon Interiors

Lime Light Hair and Beauty

Hair Health & Beauty

Best Haircare Brand


Mycro Keratin

Dark & Lovely Professional Haircare

Wella Professionals

Best Product Training Supplier





Best Marketing



Wella Professionals



Best Sales Representative

Anne Barnard - Twincare

Wanda Kotze - Schwarzkopf

Pat Hasses – Goldwell

Thys Ferreira – Twincare

Proudly sponsored by:


bottom of page